Agenda February 5, 2014

Central Connecticut State University
Information Technology Committee Agenda
February 5, 2015
1:15 pm
Note: Different Room Spring 2015: NC 236

  1. Approval of the minutes of December 5, 2014
  2. Announcements
    1. CIO Search update – Menoche
  3. ITS Department Information/Updates
    1. Evaluations of the fall Faculty Training Institute – Estrada
    2. New Firewalls – McNickle
    3. Changes to campus wireless– McNickle
  4. Library Technology Announcements
    1. Nothing for this meeting
  5. Academic Area/Departmental Reports
    1. Nothing for this meeting
  6. Old Business
    1. Open discussion on preparation of development of ITC By-law changes with goal of voting on March meetings (current by-laws at
      1. Changes to committee member distribution (see page 2 for fall proposal)
      2. Possible changes to timing for ITC Officer elections
        1. Possibilities: Move elections from spring to fall? Electronic vote after final meeting? Other solution?
        2. Restriction of must be “in the first year of their latest appointments.”
  7. New Business
    1. Alternate April meeting date (perhaps April 17, 2015)?

Possible framework for adjustment of committee member distribution in revised bylaws (developed by Frederic Latour):

Necessary due to changes to School of Engineering, Science & Technology and The Carol Ammon College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences department changes.

Currently: 7 A&S seats and 2 E&T seats.
Two of the A&S seats belong to areas that have moved to the new SEST school.

Proposed adjustment 4 SEST seats and 6 CLASS seats
Reasoning CLASS is almost exactly one and a half times the size of SEST.
Result: change voting members from 17 to 18 (Quorum remains 9)

Specifics of revised distribution

School of Engineering, Science and Technology Faculty (AAUP): 4

  • Engineering and Technology – Computer Electronics and Graphics Technology, Engineering, Manufacturing and Construction Management, Technology and Engineering Education – 1
  • Mathematics/Computer Science – Mathematical Sciences, Computer Science - 1
  • Natural Sciences – Biology, Biomolecular Sciences, Chemistry and Biochemistry, Geological Sciences, Physics & Engineering Physics – 1
  • School of Engineering, Science and Technology – At large – 1

Framework: The three areas are all of similar sizes (41, 41 and 43 full-time faculty).

Carol A. Ammon College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences Faculty (AAUP): 6

  • Social and Behavioral Sciences – Anthropology, Criminology/Criminal Justice, Communication, Economics, Geography, Political Science, Psychological Science, Sociology – 2
  • Humanities – English, History, Journalism, Modern Languages, Philosophy – 2
  • Fine Arts – Art, Music, Theater, Design - 1
  • Carol A. Ammon College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences – At large - 1

Framework Social/Behavioral Sciences and Humanities areas are have roughly twice the number of full-time faculty of the Fine Arts area (they have 82, 68 and 29 full-time faculty respectively).

Remaining distribution carries forward from the previous/existing by-law structure.

School of Business Faculty (AAUP)  – 2
School of Education and Professional Studies Faculty (AAUP)  – 3
Library Faculty (AAUP)  – 1
Administrative Faculty (SUOAF-AFSCME)  – 2

Ex Officio Appointments remain the same

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>