Old ITC Bylaws (in effect through Spring 2012)


Faculty members shall be elected by their undergraduate schools through Faculty Senate nominations made during the Spring semester. Two weeks after the Faculty Senate has acknowledged the nominations, the Faculty Senate will oversee the general election where faculty members in each School elect the nominated representatives for their School. Administrative faculty will be elected by their constituents. All members shall be elected for two-year, staggered terms. All ex-officio appointments will be appointed by their respective Dean or Director.

Membership shall be based on the following distribution.

School of Business Faculty (AAUP) 3
School of Education and Professional Studies Faculty (AAUP) 3
School of Technology Faculty (AAUP) 2
School of Arts and Sciences Faculty (AAUP)
Natural Sciences-Bilological Sciences, Chemistry, Geography, Physics/ES 2
Social and Behavioral Sciences – Anthropology, Criminology/Criminal justice, Communication, Economics, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology and Social Work 2
Humanities – English, History, Modern Languages, Philosophy 2
Fine Arts – Art, Music, Theater, Graphic Design 2
Mathematics/Computer Science – Mathematics, Computer Science 2
Library Faculty (AAUP) 1
Administrative Faculty (AFSCME) 2
Ex Offico Appointments (all non-voting)
Dean, School of Arts & Sciences 1
Dean, School of Business 1
Dean, School of Education and Professional Studies 1
Dean, School of Technology 1
Director of Library Services 1
Chief Information Officer 1
Director of Media Services 1

I. Organization

A. Elections
1. The Information Technology Committee (ITC) shall organize itself as follows:

  • a. The Election Committee shall begin in February to solicit a slate of potential officers to lead ITC for the following year. The officers must be current ITC members representing academic departments and will consist of a chair, vice chair and secretary.
  • b. Officers for the following year shall be voted on by secret ballot and decided by majority vote. This election shall be the first agenda item following approval of the minutes during the last regularly scheduled meeting of the academic year. Officers shall formally assume their duties immediately before adjournment of this meeting.
  • c. The new officers shall set a time and place for the first meeting to occur after the first week but not later than the fourth week of the fall semester. The officers shall inform the membership of this meeting in writing and/or via electronic mail.

B. Duties of the Officer
1. The Chair

a. Shall call and preside at all meetings.
b. Shall draw up and circulate an agenda at least 10 days in advance of each monthly or special meeting.
c. Shall represent ITC at the Faculty Senate, in all other University matters or provide for representation.
d. May participate in debate as any other member, and vote in case of a tie.
e. Shall serve a one year term and may not serve more than two consecutive terms.

2. The Vice Chair

a. In the absence of the chair, the vice chair shall assume all of the chair’s duties. If the chair cannot complete the term, then the vice chair shall become the chair for the remainder of the term.
b. If the vice chair is vacated prior to the expiration of the term, a special election shall be held at the next regularly scheduled meeting following normal procedures for electing officers.
c. Shall serve a one year term and may not serve more than two consecutive terms.

3. The Secretary

a. Shall keep a record of the proceedings of each meeting, including a correct statement of every motion made and the manner in which it was disposed; the names of the members of all committees and of all other officers of the body; a true copy of every resolution acted upon, with the affirmative and negative votes cast thereon; and all other transactions of each session and its meetings.
b. Shall be responsible for maintaining the permanent records of ITC and the distribution of ITC minutes to all ITC members and other required or interested parties within 20 days following the meeting.
c. By the second meeting of each academic year shall distribute copies of the duties and responsibilities of ITC and its bylaws to all members.

4. Committees

a. The Election Committee

1. Shall consist of three members elected at the February meeting and shall oversee the elections of officers.

2. Members of the Election Committee shall recuse themselves form the Election Committee if they are nominated for office.

b. Special Committees may be formed to investigate or consider special matters.

II. Floor Procedures

A. Robert’s Rules of Order, in its latest edition, shall be considered authoritative for all questions of parliamentary procedure.

B. The Chair shall provide each member with a copy of any main motion for general business at least ten (10) days in advance of the meeting at which that main motion is to be voted on. However, upon a unanimous concurrence of the ITC members present this 10 day advance may be waived.

C. The chair shall include on the agenda any item proposed by any ITC member. If not included in time for inclusion on that month’s agenda, it will be included on the following month’s agenda.

D. Regular ITC meetings shall be held each month of the academic year, but if the chair determines that there are no significant committee reports, old business or new business for the agenda, then the chair may postpone a regular meeting to the next month.

E. On the petition of any five (5) members of the ITC, the chair must call a special meeting within two calendar weeks of receipt of the petition unless a regular meeting is scheduled within three weeks of receipt of the petition. The chair has authority to call a special meeting. The agenda for a special meeting must be circulated 10 days in advance.

F. There are 10 elected areas of the ITC (see Membership above).  A quorum is comprised of members from at least 5 different areas, representing at least two different schools. The quorum for the Election and special committees shall not be less than one third of its membership or two (2) persons, whichever is greater.

G. The order of business normally shall be: call to order, approval of minutes of the previous meeting, announcements, committee reports, old business, new business, and adjournment.

IV. Functions and Responsibilities

1.      The faculty senate’s Information Technology Committee is responsible for establishing priorities for academic computing at Central Connecticut State University.  “Academic computing” includes: faculty computing, classrooms, labs, software, training, and the websites of schools, departments, and faculty members.

2.      The ITC is charged with:

·         Prioritizing all projects related to academic computing that require IT department resources.  Purchases formerly handled through the budget process, through appeals to deans, or to the CIO, or through departmental expenditure, should be referred to the ITC for consultation and prioritization.

·         Developing policy recommendations related to academic computing.

·         Reviewing all policies that impact academic computing.

3.      The ITC reports to:

·         The senate annually

·         The newly-created IT Governance Committee (on which the ITC is represented) on a schedule to be established.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>